Wednesday, October 1, 2014

BORN AT DAWN, BOOK BLAST AND BOOK GIVEAWAY By: NigeriaLockley

 

BORN AT DAWN, BOOK BLAST AND BOOK GIVEAWAY. Author is giving away 2 autographed copies of Born at Dawn.

Please add this to your post. Rafflecode:
 
<a id="rc-96d196a614" class="rafl" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/96d196a614/" rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="//widget.rafflecopter.com/load.js"></script>
 
 
 
 


Book Title: Born at Dawn
Genre: Contemporary Christian Fiction, Women's Fiction
Author: Nigeria Lockley
Urban Books (September 30, 2014)
ISBN-13: 978-1601626752
Publication Date: September 30, 2014
 
 
 
ABOUT THE NOVEL......
 
Thirty-four year old Cynthia Barclay knows that marriage is supposed to be for better or for worse. Unfortunately, for the last ten years of her marriage Cynthia has experienced the worst that marriage has to offer at the hands of her abusive husband Marvin Barclay. With the hope of saving herself and her family she turns to the Lord. Expecting to see God manifest himself greatly in her life sooner than later Cynthia is not content just waiting. She wants out.
Abandoning her hope, her husband, and her two young sons Cynthia boards a bus from New York City to Richmond, Virginia. She begins a new life armed with six thousand dollars on a prepaid credit card, a sketchy plan for success, and a promise to return for her sons. That is until she meets Cheo, a photojournalist with enough connections to take her where she wants to be and forget where she came from.

After six years in Richmond Cynthia’s dark past resurfaces. At the risk of losing it all—her past and her present Cynthia returns home to right her wrongs. Has Cynthia chosen the right time to return home or is it too late for God to restore everything she has broken?
 
 
 
 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR: 
 



Nigeria Lockley possesses two Master's degrees, one in English Secondary Education, which she utilizes as an educator with the New York City Department of Education. Her second Master's degree is in Creative Writing. Born at Dawn is Nigeria’s first published novel. Nigeria serves as the Vice President of Bridges Family Services, a not-for-profit organization that assists student parents interested in pursuing a degree in higher education. She is also the deaconess and clerk for her spiritual home King of Kings and Lord of Lords, Church of God. Nigeria is a New York native who resides in Harlem with her husband and two daughters.

Social Links

Website: http://www.nigerialockley.com


Twitter: www.twitter.com/newnigeria

Buy Links

Amazon ebook: http://amzn.to/1qs7562

Amazon paperback: http://amzn.to/1snITZP

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1pce2IY

Tour Hosted by Write Now Literary www.wnlbooktours.com

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

His Until Sunrise, Book Blast, by Joy Avery, August 28, 2014 CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE


His Until Sunrise, Book Blast, by Joy Avery, August 28, 2014     CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE


Contest Giveaway: Author is offering a “His Until Sunrise Goodie Package” for One Winner.
 
Author: Joy Avery
Publication Date: 8-2-2014
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Age Group: For 18+
 

 
 




About the book

After learning her boss has scheduled a mandatory team-building excursion, financial planner Nona Rogers panics. What does she know about camping? Nada. Zilch. Heck, she doesn’t even like picnics. And the thought of sleeping amid bugs and wild animals knots her stomach.

No way can she risk looking like an idiot in front of her colleagues. Taking proactive measures, she acquires the services of a guide to give her a crash-course in camping. Seven days living off the land. How hard could it be? Nona swallows those words when she meets the sexy titan tasked with leading her into the wild. Getting mauled by a bear quickly becomes the least of her worries.

Mason Tinsdale's first love has always been oil rigging. But a horrible accident has him doubting the job—more importantly, himself. Seven days in the Indigo Falls wilderness is just what he needs to sort out his thoughts. Then he meets Nona Rogers. He’s convinced the gorgeous woman is going to be far more trouble than she’s worth. And he’s right. However, there’s something about the feisty vixen that makes her irresistible.

Two guarded hearts. Seven days alone. An attraction that can’t be denied.
 
 
 
About the Author.....
 
Joy Avery is a North Carolina native with a passion for penning contemporary romances. When she's not writing, she enjoys reading, cake decorating, pretending to expertly play the piano, driving her husband insane, and playing with her sixteen-pound peek-a-poo and hundred-pound Rottweiler.

There’s plenty of emotion in a Joy Avery romance. Sometimes there are obstacles and hurdles in love, and she enjoys showing this in her novels. Her stories guide readers along the rutted roads of love, delivering them to a gratifying happily ever after.

Romance is Joy’s genre of choice, because she enjoys the experience of characters overcoming the barriers that have held them back from finding true love. Plus, she loves happily ever afters.

HIS UNTIL SUNRISE is Joy’s second novel. Her first novel, SMOKE IN THE CITI, garnered attention for having well-developed and believable characters, as well as refreshing humor. She is currently working on Book 2 of her Indigo Falls series.

Joy is a member of Romance Writers of America and Heart of Carolina Romance Writers
 
 
Connect with Joy Social

Website             http://www.joyavery.com

Facebook           https://www.facebook.com/Authorjoyavery

Twitter               https://twitter.com/authorjoyavery

Buy Link

 


Tour Hosted by WNL Book Tours www.wnlbooktours.com

 
 

Saturday, February 22, 2014

TEMPUS ....Time... Hallucination and more from ... AUTHOR HOLLY LAUREN






Chapel Ryan isn't crazy. At least, that's what she's been trying to convince herself of for most of her life. But after being hallucination-free for three years, Chapel finds herself face down on her English classroom’s gritty linoleum floor. When she looks up, everyone around her is suspended in animation. Mouths hang open mid-yawn, feet hover mid-cross, Ms. Freeman’s arm flexes mid-sentence diagram. It's another hallucination. Or, is it?
Chapel prepares to tear herself back to reality when something happens. Something that has never happened before in any of her hallucinations--someone moves. And not just any someone—it’s the new guy with a scar over his lip and a reputation as black as his perfectly styled hair. And all of the sudden Chapel's white-knuckle grip on her life has slipped, and with it, her assurance that what she's experiencing isn't real.









       AND a  few quotes from Tempus:

























Praises from Tempus:

When high school senior Chapel Ryan learns the truth about her hallucinations, she embarks on a journey of love, justice, and truth. 
Find Tempus on Amazon.com or at BarnesandNoble.com
Praise for Tempus:  
“If Colleen Hoover and Cassandra Clare had a baby, her name would be Holly Lauren … For anyone looking for a fresh voice in the YA arena … I highly recommend Holly Lauren.” -Amazon.com Reviewer
Tempus was an interesting, unique, unpredictable book. The mix of paranormal and mystery, friendship and romance, and complex, likable characters gave Tempus the elements I most enjoy in a young adult book.” -Kimberly Faye, Kimberly Faye Reads
“I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with such great, BELIEVABLE dialogue!  … I really did love Tempus, and I’m sure I’ll wear out my tablet reading [it] over and over” -Echo Reed, InkBerry Book
“I generally run screaming from YA, but [Tempus] I absolutely loved. Please tell  me there will be a book 2?” - Carrie Shepherd, Amazon.com Reviewer. 
  • Genre: New Adult Fantasy
  • One Sentence Description: After she learns the true nature of her hallucinations, high school senior Chapel Ryan must decide who she can trust in a world where the rules of genetics do not apply
  • Available here: Amazon & Barnes & Nobles  
  •   Site   Facebook  Twitter 
  • General  Information on Tempus:


    • Title: Tempus
    • Author: Holly Lauren
    • Genre: New Adult Fantasy
    • Length: 362 pages
    • Release Date: November 2013
    • ISBN-13: 978-1493513307
    • Imprint: Libertine Press
                 *****************************************************************

                     Here is Arlena's Book Review of Tempus....



Title: Tempus
Author:  Holly Lauren
Published:  Libertine Press
Reviewed By:  Arlena Dean
Rating: 5
Blog For: GMTA
Review:

"Tempus" by Holly Lauren was a wonderful well written incredible young adult read.  You will find some fantasy, mystery, suspense, friendship, romance and some likable as well as unlikable characters in the awesome told novel. Be prepared for action, drama, complex feelings mixed in with hurt and love all in this novel. 





 Here is a Quote from "TEMPUS"


In truth,
no one knew all of her.
She gave out pieces of herself here

and there, but the whole
of Chapel belonged to no one

but Chapel. That was how she
wanted it.
 The characters were also mainly all well developed, well rounded, colorful and simply fascinating to read about. We find that the two main characters Chapel(Chap) and Isaiah (Zay) were so very captivating and intriguing only to give the reader a good read. Let's not leave out some of the supporting cast/secondary characters because truly Erica and Timmy were Chapel's buds that were just a few of these phenomenal folk in "Tempus."

This author really works her magic taking the reader of a journey full of twist and turns of what was
causing Chapel to hallucinate. Were there someone out there that knew her secret and could stop them? What happens when Isaiah (Zay) the new kid at school actually...well you will be kept guessing right up till almost the end of the read. Then you throw in problems Chap had with her mom(Valerie), stepfather, friends (ex boyfriend),(new boyfriend and then you have a real story that this author tells so very well. With all the struggles that were on Chap would she be able to except a romance with Zay?  What was up with them being able to finish each other sentences? 


                    And another quote from TEMPUS:
 
“Zay,” she whispered, and her

voice, her always sure, always

steady voice, shook. “I want—”
She didn’t finish.
“I want, too,” he said simply. 

This author really transported the reader into a 'world of Chapel Ryan' in that she was so  'kind hearted, strong and a  fiery' person who was just trying to be a normal HS senior.  Then their is Isaiah (Zay) will he let  Chap know what is going on? ...and I will stop and let you pick up the good read "Tempus" to see for yourself how this author presents it all to the reader.

I will only say after reading "Tempus" is that  you will be ready for the sequel and with that leaving me to say, Wow what a interesting ending!


                     AND A LITTLE MORE!

 

What I should have said was that

I want all of it.
I want your stubbornness, your
jealousy, your impetuousness, your

determination, your laugh, your
freckles, your heart. I want you.
 
   Plus here is a BONUS: Zay and Chapel from Tempus by Holly Lauren
Chapel made a complete circuit, peeking through the breaks in the stream, but she still didn’t see him. Had he left her there? The thought burned a hole through her excitement. 
 
The song changed again. This time it was something more current. A woman singing about going around and around. 
Tell me now, tell me now, tell me now, tell me now you know.
Chapel pulled her hair over her shoulder and wrung it out. She felt cold for the first time.
Don’t know how to feel about it. Something ‘bout the way you move.
She backed up to the center of the ring, making herself visible. She wondered if she should leave. 
Makes me think I can’t live without you, and it takes me all the way.
“Chapel.” His voice was right behind her. 
I want you to stay.
She turned slowly. Met his eyes. 
I want you to stay.
All pretense of play was gone as his fingertips brushed against her chin.
"You're not at all what I thought you'd be,” he said. 
Her heart thundered in her ears, along with the pulsing water around them. "What did you think I'd be?"
He drew his dark eyebrows down. "I thought you were just another girl."
She swallowed. "But instead I’m . . .”
Not." He dropped his hand, stared at his fingers.
His breath was warm against her cheek as he stepped even closer and leaned his mouth toward hers. 
 
She was paralyzed. 
Not by fear. Not by indecision. But by the feeling that the moment was unique. That it was monumental for them both. That they were lowering their shields, holstering their weapons—at least for that perfect span of time.
He kissed the side of her temple, just over her trio of freckles. When he leaned back and studied her, water droplets from his hair showered her like rain.
“Zay,” she whispered, and her voice, her always sure, always steady voice, shook. “I want—” She didn’t finish. 
“I want, too,” he said simply. 
Then she closed her eyes. His hand came around the back of her neck, and with his thumb, he angled her jaw toward him.
“So beautiful,” he whispered.

           *****************************************************************
 



  Here is An Interview with one of the cast members of     Tempus:


"Hello Isaiah, or may I call you Zay? I have to say I'm a bit nervous. The chance to actually get to interview you is a rarity and I'm sure you never would have agreed had Chapel not persuaded you. I do hope I do not ask any overly private questions, but if I do feel free to decline to answer."

Only my closest friends call me Zay … but … I’ll make an exception. I did that with Chapel, and you see how that worked out … (Winks.)

The interviewer fidgets around with a sheaf of papers in her hand, her eyes darting from one sheet to the next. It's obvious she's extremely nervous and can barely keep herself contained. Her hands shake and she drops an index card on the floor. She leans over quickly, almost too quickly nearly toppling out of her chair as she snatches it up afraid he'll see the little stars and hearts she's drawn around his name. 

"Ahem... sorry about that." Glancing back up at him she smiles shakily and begins with her first question. 

"So, Zay, how about those Yankee's?"

I don’t do baseball anymore. (Points to scar over his lip.) Remember?

She can see that her attempt at a joke fails miserably but quickly bounces back with a small smile. "But seriously, what your fans would like to know is... how exactly did you feel when you saw Chapel for the first time?"

The first time I saw Chapel was almost a year ago. It was mid-March, and I was sitting in the car waiting on Jackson and his realtor to look at—yet another—house.

There was a break in the trees that divide our yards, and there was just room enough between two of them for me to see her. She had her music blaring when she pulled up—that’s what got my attention. She was playing an angry song--one of my favorite songs.

And I look over expecting to see some angsty dude, and instead there’s this short blonde girl in heels and a blouse slamming her car door. Usually I’m not into short girls, but I couldn’t look away from her. Because while she was small, she took up all the spaces in my vision.

Turn around, turn around, I found myself thinking. I wanted to see her face. When I did, I let my feet slip from the dash into the floorboard as I leaned forward. She was beautiful. Beautiful, and sad.

My first thought was, I want to take that away from her. I want to make her not sad. My second thought was, Don’t be such a freaking pansy, Zay. That girl is hot. You have to find a way to make out with her in between missions. So I went inside and told Jackson that was the house for us.

Somewhat heartbroken she moves on. If only there'd been the slightest chance she could have turned his head. Oh well, she'll just have to dream on. "What kind of music do you like?"

I’m into hip-hop, mostly. Jay Z, Eminem. Anything I run or slam a punching bag to. (Leans forward and whispers) I’ve been known to download the odd Katie Perry song. But let’s keep that between us, hm?

She's becoming a bit more comfortable now and finally settles into routine. "If you had to name a hero, someone that's not related to you or someone you don't really know, that you would like to hang out with for a week, who would it be and why?"

Superman. He has x-ray vision …

"Where do you shop for clothes and what's your color preference?"

I actually enjoy shopping—which guys think is weird until they see the fruits of my labor. Girls love dudes who put a little thought into what they wear. I travel so much that I don’t have time to go into malls. I shop online. As for colors … (Looks down at all black outfit.) Do you gotta ask?

"Favorite ice cream? Or do you even like ice cream?"

Jackson would make me run a dozen sprints just for using the word ice cream.

"If you could dye your hair any color, what would it be and why?" 

Have you seen my hair? (Points to perfectly-coifed locks.) Nu uh.

Feeling that her questions are a little more feminine than he'd like, she finally tosses the papers on the table and goes for the nitty gritty stuff.

"Alright, so..." Leaning forward she smiles wickedly. "What do you really think is going on with Chapel's dad and the fact that he's still alive after all?"

I have a few theories in the works, actually. (Runs a hand down the side of his jaw.) Let’s just say I’m hoping they all turn out to be bogus.

"Do you have any jealousy toward Valentine? I mean let's face it, he's pretty close to Chapel and well... even though he's 'technically' with Erika...?" Leaving  the question open ended she waits for him to answer, hoping she can get some serious dirt here.

I hate to disappoint you, but I’m not really a jealous guy. I’m happy Chapel had a good friend growing up. He’s a really good dude, to be honest. Smart and funny. (Pauses.) Okay, now that I think about it, maybe I am a little jealous. But have you seen his hair? (Shakes his head.) I feel good about my chances.

"How did it feel to be able to rough Carter up a bit? I bet you wanted to get a few more good licks in huh?" 

(Smirks.) Now we’re talking. I’ve wanted to punch Carter in his pretty boy face ever since I saw him standing close to Chapel in his classroom last fall. If Chapel hadn’t been there to stop me, I’d be having this interview from a jail cell.

"So tell me about Rush, does he have anyone he's interested in?" Realizing she's fishing again she leans back and holds up her hands. "Sorry... never mind you really don't have to answer that." Even though she hopes he will.

You’re not the first girl to fish for information about my boy. (Chuckles softly.) I think Rush has his eye on someone. But you’ll have to stay tuned to figure out who …

"Say you and Chapel didn't work out, and you had the chance to go out with any girl you wanted, even a celebrity, who would it be?"

I’m not sure if you’ve noticed, but I’m not really a relationship kind of guy. This thing with Chapel scares the sh—uh (Catches himself.), it’s outside of my comfort zone, so to speak. I have no idea how I’ll react if it doesn’t work out, because I’ve never done this before.

"When you have time to watch television, are there any shows you really enjoy?" 

Television? Is that still a thing?

She's pretty good at this back and forth, light and intense thing and really feeling at ease now she goes for another serious question. "Tell us about your mom, Zay, where is she? Who was she really?" 

(Coughs into his fist.) Next question.

"Just one last question and I guess we'll be done. I'm sure all the fan girls out there will want to know. Is there ever a chance that you might become... you know... the 'old' Zay again?" There's a hint of hopefulness in her eyes, even just one night with this handsome rogue would be enough to last her a lifetime... let's face it she's not had much action lately.

The old Zay? The old Zay was a lot to handle. (Lifts up one corner of his mouth.) But he had some good times, too. Wait … are you okay? You’re breathing kind of funny …

"Alright, well..." she stands and gathers her papers accidentally leaving the index card behind she'd dropped earlier. Holding out her free hand she smiles. "Thank you Zay for the wonderful interview, I really hope we can do it again sometime." Leaning in a bit just for one moment of closeness she winks. "Anytime... you have my number... call me." Releasing his hand after a moment she turns to walk toward the door trying to sashay a bit, though the execution is poor and she trips on the rug in the foyer. Catching herself against the wall she makes sure not to look back, sure he's laughing at her and exits the house.



 


ABOUT THE AUTHOR.....Holly Lauren
 



Holly was born and raised in a small town in North Georgia. The third of four children, Holly grew up telling stories to get herself out of—and her siblings into—trouble. When she was eight years old, she penned her first publication: a newspaper called Sunny Dayz News. While she didn’t sell any actual copies, her sympathetic grandmother did peruse through the edition at least once.
When Holly isn’t dreaming up new plotlines for her next book, she enjoys breakfasting at Picnic CafĂ© in Dahlonega, Georgia with her (handsome) husband and their two (adorable) daughters.

how holly  ACCIDENTALLY BECAME AN AUTHOR

Posted on 

I started writing when I was 10 years old. My first short story was about a girl named Kelsey (because that was the coolest name ever) whose babysitter was killed by a man named the Peanut Butter and Jelly Murderer.  Every time he claimed another victim, he would eat a peanut butter and jelly sandwich at their house, then leave.

So, yeah. I was a weird kid.

But I wasn’t one who knew exactly what I wanted to be when I grew up. I went through phases: the astronaut phase, the actress phase, the longer-than-you’d-think grocery store checkout girl phase (the scanning always looked so glamorous).

In high school, I was mostly in the keep-my-head-above-the-social-waters phase and the boy phase. There wasn’t a lot of strategizing career-wise.

Then, in college, I switched my major three times. I went from Theatre (too dark) to Real Estate (too serious) to English (ah, just right). Borders on psychosis, though, no?

My point is that I never had this moment where I sat down and said, I want to be an author when I grow up. My writing was always with me, something I loved doing, something that came so naturally to me that I didn’t even realize it was my passion.
My junior year in college I wrote a book called Our Story that will never see the light of day. That first book was a cathartic experience, and I learned more about myself through it than the craft of authorship. But when I finished it, something clicked into place inside of me. I knew I would never stop writing books.

My second, third, and forth manuscripts followed. Most of it was complete garbage. I mean terrible, terrible stuff. And at first it was all in good fun. And I know people read this and think—I’d rather carve my eyeballs from my head with a rusty coat hanger than write for fun—but that’s just how it was, and how it still is for me.

Three years ago I started writing Tempus. I loved my job and had a full life, so writing served no other purpose for me than a hobby I was passionate about. Then, when I finished Tempus, I shared it with a few people. I was literally (genuinely, seriously) blown away when they expressed how much they enjoyed reading it.

That’s the moment my writing went from being about me, to being about a reader. It was an addictive feeling—writing something that made people think and feel.

So I decided to edit Tempus and query it—just to see what happened. Simultaneously, I started writing more for my actual job, so it took me a while to get around to sending Tempus out.

I was in bed the night my publisher reached out to me about representing Tempus. It didn’t really seem real, so I didn’t tell many people. I was crazy busy with my job, my family, my friends—plus, I’m a I’ll-believe-it-when-I-see-it kind of girl—the most optimistic skeptic you’ll ever meet. I shared the news with a few, but mostly focused on the season I was currently in.

Through a series of life events, it become evident to my family that I needed to step away from my day job to allow more margin in our schedules. It just so happened that the month after I quit, Tempus was published.

So I never set out to be an author, and yet, here I am. It’s very humbling, surreal, unexpected, and wonderful. I believe so fully in God’s sovereignty, and these circumstances only serve to confirm that.

What’s next for me? Well, I can promise you more writing. For one, I have a contract to finish the Tempus series. I also have another idea for a series that I’m just squirming to get started on. (Yup. I’m that big of a nerd.)

I don’t want to limit my life to just one narrow career path. That’s not for me. I want to give myself permission to pursue my dreams, however random or unexpected or challenging they might be.

And who knows? I could wake up tomorrow and hate writing. If that happens, I may be the lady scanning your groceries on your next outing.

Hey. Anything can happen, right?

Holly Lauren is the author of TEMPUS, a Young Adult Science Fiction Romance out now at Amazon.com and BarnesandNoble.com

More from this author..... 

             How to write a book

First, you should know that I’m mildly insane. Most writers are. We’re great liars, we’re always in our heads, and we’re constantly picking apart our surroundings to scavenge ideas for our current (or next) book. With that as my disclaimer, take a journey with me through the glitter and leopard print labyrinth of my writer’s brain to see how I write.
 
Step One: Get inspired
Read something that makes your heart beat fast. Watch a movie that makes you swoon. Listen to music. Go on a hot date. Kiss your child goodnight. Go to church. Eat a fantastic steak. You can’t get water from a dry well. Make sure you fill yourself up.
For me, I’m most inspired by music and books. When I hear something or read something that moves me, I stop and say, What made me feel that? And, How can I recreate that in my writing? Yes, EMOTIONAL PLAGIARISM, PEOPLE.
I’m always inspired by the music of Andrew Belle and books like Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion or anything by Cassandra Clare.
 
Step Two: Put it on paper
That book isn’t going to write itself, sweetheart. So make sure you’re putting words on paper every day. Don’t waste hours crafting the perfect sentence or scene—that’s for the editing phase. What’s most important is transferring your dream from your head onto paper. Right now. No, seriously. Stop reading this and write one sentence.
I heard a quote once that said, ‘Don’t write it right, just write it.’ When I’m writing a scene that isn’t flowing the way I want it to, I push through. I make myself finish. I do come back and change like, 50 percent of it, but it’s better than getting stuck.
 
I don’t do outlines.  I wish I
could. But my best ideas are
always improvised. For me, the
most important thing is to know
my characters. It really takes
the work out of creating the
 plot. If you know your
 characters, you can drop them
into any situation and ask, ‘What
would they do next? What would
they want? What would they
say?’ It really writes itself after
that! (HA! I wish. But it does make
 it easier.)
While it’s important to know your characters,
you don’t have to put your characters in a box.
Let them change. Let them grow. In fact, they
need to change and grow. It’s always good to sit
down and evaluate your characters at different
times in you writing. (Cue suspenseful music.) For
example, in my last creative meeting for the
 sequel to TEMPUS, a character whom I’ve always
planned to be good will take a villainous turn …
(See how I plugged my next book, there?)
Step Three: Edit. Edit. And edit some more.
 
That first draft? It’s crap. No, seriously. It’s good crap, but crap nonetheless. Never stop at the first draft. Give yourself more credit than that! You have to edit. Edit. Edit. Peel back the layers. Remove the excess. If it’s not vital, lose it. If it’s something you think is GOOD, but still isn’t vital, save it for your next book.
Read it until you’re sick of it. Ask other people (who aren’t your mother or significant other) to read it. And, if you’re serious about being published, hire someone to edit it. I know this idea sounds terrible, because I love money as much as the next shopaholic, but you need the help of a professional.
I wrote Tempus in six months. I spent two years editing it. Now, that’s what we like to call OCD, so I’m not saying that’s wise (or even socially acceptable). I’m just saying that the amount of time you spend perfecting your piece should at least be proportionate to the amount of time you spent creating it.
I love to hear from other writers! If you have great writing ideas, email them to me at HollyLaurenWrites@gmail.com. I’ll put the most helpful ones on my blog!
 
How to get a book published

Now that my first published novel is out and about (the most terrifying and awesome feeling ever), folks are getting curious.

How long did it take you to write it? (1 year to write, 1 year to edit)

Where did you get the idea? (A dream)

Where did you find the time? (Time isn’t change on the ground that you find, you make time)

Does it come in large print? (Not yet, Grandmother, but you’ll be the first to know)

But the main question people want to know, and one that I wanted to know before I had this opportunity, is how in the world does a person go about getting a book published.

Holly Lauren's Story:

2006: I wrote a book. It was terrible. I queried it and got rejected.

2008: I wrote a book. It was slightly less terrible. I queried it and got rejected.

2010: I wrote a book. It was bearable. I queried it, got a little interest, but no representation.

2011: I wrote TEMPUS. I queried it, got a little interest, but no representation. Something in me KNEW this book was worth fighting for. So in …

2012: I spent a year re-dreaming TEMPUS. I sent out manuscripts to people I trusted for feedback. I got a critique partner. I edited, cut down, edited, cut down.

2013: I queried TEMPUS again. This time, Kitty Bullard reached out to me and asked if I’d like her wonderful publishing house, GMTA, to publish TEMPUS. I was in bed. I pressed my face into the pillow and screamed for joy.

2014: TEMPUS was released .

Quick Tips:

-Tailor your queries so you’re sending agents/publishers ONLY what they ask for.

Agents almost always list what they’re currently looking for in their profiles. Do you fit in their niche? Do they already represent someone like you? Do your research and mention these things specifically. I queried about 25 agents/publishers with TEMPUS, but I knew that each of them were looking for something like it, and believed I added to or complimented their current list.

-Join a good database like Writer’s Market to keep yourself up-to-date on trends and current marketplace needs.

This is also where you can get connected to agents, publishers, and other writers. I got nearly all my agent profiles off this page.

-Read good books to sharpen your usage and mind.

I learned a ton from reading books like WARM BODIES (Isaac Marion), The DIVERGENT Series (Veronica Roth), and THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS Series (Cassandra Clare). These people have “made it” so to speak, so watching what they do teaches you what gets published.

-And, most of all, keep writing, keep writing, keep writing.

If I had given up after my first book, that would have been it. Rejection is hard. But I made myself a promise: I would keep writing until someone published my book. I was just crazy enough to believe it. And if you’re a writer, my guess is that you’re a little crazy, too. 

If you’ve been published before, I’d love to hear about your journey.
 
                                                             Confessions
3 things I’ll do differently with my next manuscript …
1. Query fewer agents. With TEMPUS, I queried just about everyone accepting manuscripts in my genre. I probably queried someone you know. I might have queried you. That’s how many people I queried. Now, I lucked up and got an AWESOME publisher, but this is not always the case. I’ve heard some horror stories about publishing deals gone bad, and that easily could have been me. NO, I will look at agent websites, lists, and what other authors are saying about said agents before I query them.
2. Edit, Edit, Edit. I thought TEMPUS had been edited within an inch of its precious little book life. But between the stage where I deemed it “perfect” and its publishing, it lost 50 pages of content. Holy cow. That’s more than a little. That’s slightly less than a lot.
3. Start the book 25% further into the story. I like to tell stories in chronological order. I don’t do a lot of flashbacks or retrospective narratives, so my manuscripts read in a very linear fashion. The problem with this is that the build can be very slow, especially when you are trying to establish characters, settings, and foundational plot elements. HOWEVER, on my next manuscript, I am only going to reveal the details you absolutely must have in order to understand what is happening in that moment—and even then, I may not give you all the details.
What will you do differently with your next manuscript?

 

 

Thank you so much for sharing with us about your new novel TEMPUS and I hope for any of you who haven't picked up this wonderful read will do so. 

You  can find more information  about this wonderful Author Holly Lauren  at:
 
       Amazon & Barnes & Nobles   
                  Site   Facebook  Twitter